Contact Us

Kay Takes Deery Series Win Dubuque, Carter Wins Triple Crown Bonus

IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series
IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series

Justin Kay grabbed his second IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series win of the weekend on Sunday in Dubuque. Cayden Carter the bonus money for the Highway 20 Triple Corwn challenge.

After the fifth lead change of the night, Kay passed Jake Neal with 11 laps from the finish and raced to the win. Neal needed gave up, but had to settle for second, a car length back.

Matt Ryan, Chad Holladay and Cayden Carter, the top driver in Triple Crown point standings, com­pleted the top five.

Joe Zrostlik led the first two laps from his outside front row start. Carter started seventh and led laps 3-20 and 22-29. After starting eighth, Kay was scored first across the line on lap 21.

Back-to-back cautions came out on laps 28 and 29. Neal rocketed past Kay and Carter and into the lead following the second restart.

Kay rallied to get front spot and brought Neal along into lapped traffic. Neal stayed close but was never able to make up the distance.

Kay, winner of the Friday Deery feature at Farley Speedway, had won one previous series event at Dubuque, where he’s also a two-time track champion. Neal becomes the fourth different point leader through the series’ first five events.

Carter earned a $500 share of $1,500 in Highway 20 Triple Crown bonus money.

Neal pocketed the $250 Sunoco Race Fuels feature qualifier prize. Malvern Bank paid $50 each to heat race winners Jesse Sobbing, Zrostlik and Kay.

Next up for the Deery Series is a $2,000 to win event on Sunday, May 14 at Quad City Speedway in East Moline, Ill.

Click Here For More Racing Results & News

APRIL 23, 2017

Feature results – 1. Justin Kay, Wheatland; 2. Jake Neal, Omaha, Neb.; 3. Matt Ryan, Daven­port; 4. Chad Holladay, Muscatine; 5. Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa; 6. Jeremiah Hurst, Dubuque; 7. Luke Merfeld, Dubuque; 8. Joe Zrostlik, Long Grove; 9. Jesse Sobbing, Malvern; 10. Richie Gustin, Gilman; 11. Luke Goedert, Guttenberg; 12. Curt Martin, Independence; 13. Joel Callahan, Dubuque; 14. Jeff Tharp, Sherrill; 15. Paul Conrad, Colo; 16. Gary Webb, Blue Grass; 17. Curt Schroeder, Newton; 18. Kyle Krampe, Baxter; 19. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown; 20. Lyle Klein, Sherrill; 21. Travis Dennis, Sterling, Ill.

1st heat – 1. Sobbing; 2. Goedert; 3. Webb; 4. Gustin; 5. Tharp; 6. Merfeld; 7. Klein.

2nd heat – 1. Zrostlik; 2. Carter; 3. Neal; 4. Holladay; 5. Conrad; 6. Krampe; 7. Schroeder.

3rd heat – 1. Kay; 2. Hurst; 3. Callahan; 4. Martin; 5. Ryan; 6. DeFrance; 7. Denning.

Click Here For More Dirt Track Racing News & Results


Best of

Recommended For You

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for K-98.5 quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive K-98.5 contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.