Contact Us

Gustin Scores Deery Series Independence Win, First Career Series Win

Richie Gustin (Photo: Bucky Doren)
Richie Gustin (Photo: Bucky Doren)

Richie Gustin is glad he reconsidered his Saturday plans and ended up traveling to the Independence Motor Speedway.

After initially expecting to take the night off from racing, Gustin decided to make the trip to Independence Motor Speedway for the Deery Brothers Summer Series for IMCA Late Models.

By night’s end, he was standing in victory lane celebrating the first series win of his career.

Gustin made his way past race-long leader Justin Mitchell with 11 laps to go to drive to the milestone victory.

Pole-sitter Mitchell assumed command early with Gustin in tow. The leader reached slower traffic after just 10 laps with Gustin remaining in pursuit the entire time.

Gustin stuck with him and was eventually able to work the low side past Mitchell exiting turn two on lap 29. He led the rest of the way to secure the $2,000 payday ahead of Mitchell.

Travis Denning, Luke Goedert and Curt Martin completed the top five in the caution-free 40-lapper.

Tyler Bruening crossed the line third, however his rearend axle housing failed post-race inspection.

Gustin became the fourth different winner in as many series events this season and the 98th different feature winner in the 31-year history of the Late Model tour.

Thirty-five Late Models signed in to compete Saturday night.

Gustin, Goedert, Rick Wendling and Cayden Carter earned $50 each from Malvern Bank for their heat race wins.

Goedert was also the winner of the $250 Sunoco Race Fuels feature qualifier drawing.

The series visits Dubuque Speedway Sunday, April 23 for a $2,000-to win event to conclude the Highway 20 Triple Crown weekend.

Heading into the final installment of the Triple Crown, Gustin holds a two point lead over Carter.

To see race results from the support classes, click here.

(Contributed By: Ryan Clark of IMCA)


Feature results – 1. Richie Gustin, Gilman; 2. Justin Mitchell, Cedar Rapids; 3. Travis Denning, Sterling, Ill.; 4. Luke Goedert, Guttenburg; 5. Curt Martin, Independence; 6. Jake Neal, Omaha, Neb.; 7. Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa; 8. Jesse Sobbing, Malvern; 9. Rick Wendling, Hazleton; 10. Joel Callahan, Dubuque; 11. Matt Ryan, Davenport; 12. Jeremiah Hurst, Dubuque; 13. Luke Pestka, Robins; 14. Kyle Hinrichs, Swisher; 15. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown; 16. Jeff Tharp, Sherrill; 17. Jay Johnson, West Burlington; 18. Chad Holladay, Muscatine; 19. Paul Conrad, Colo; 20. Troy Hovey, Decorah; 21. Rob Toland, Colona, Ill.; 22. Jeff Aikey, Cedar Falls; 23. Curt Schroeder, Newton; DQ Tyler Bruening, Decorah.

1st heat (top three) – 1. Wendling; 2. Hinrichs; 3. Mitchell; 4. Schroeder; 5. Sobbing; 6. Hovey; 7. Sean Johnson, Independence; 8. Bryce Carey, Ionia; 9. Ben Seemann, Waterloo.

2nd heat – 1. Goedert; 2. Callahan; 3. Jay Johnson; 4. Hurst; 5. Conrad; 6. Toland; 7. Brian Hunter, Independence; 8. Brunson Behning, Davenport; 9. Gary Webb, Blue Grass.

3rd heat – 1. Carter; 2. Denning; 3. Martin; 4. DeFrance; 5. Ryan; 6. Rory Metcalf, Iowa City; 7. John Emerson, Waterloo; 8. Kyle Krampe, Baxter; 9. Jon Passick, Waterloo.

4th heat – 1. Gustin; 2. Neal; 3. Pestka; 4. Bruening; 5. Andy Eckrich, Oxford; 6. Aikey; 7. Holladay; 8. Tharp.

1st “B” feature (top five) – 1. Sobbing; 2. DeFrance; 3. Ryan; 4. Schroeder; 5. Hovey; 6. Metcalf; 7. Emerson; 8. Sean Johnson; 9. Krampe; 10. Seemann; 11. Carey; 12. Passick.

2nd “B” feature – 1. Hurst; 2. Bruening; 3. Conrad; 4. Toland; 5. Aikey; 6. Eckrich; 7. Holladay; 8. Tharp; 9. Behning; 10. Webb.

Best of

Recommended For You

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for K-98.5 quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive K-98.5 contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.