With their 4th championship in 7 years, the Lynx are officially a dynasty.

With just a couple minutes left in Game 5 of the WNBA Finals between the Minnesota Lynx and the Los Angeles Sparks, the Sparks went on a 9-0 run to cut Minnesota's lead to 3. The Lynx had a stretch of bad turnovers but with 26 seconds left, Maya Moore hit a runner from the free throw line to ice the game and give the Lynx their 4th championship in 7 years. The Sparks tried to foul but Minnesota hit their free throws and won the 2017 WNBA Championship 85-76. Sylvia Fowles was awarded the 2017 finals MVP. Fowles played 38 minutes (out of 40), had 17 points, 3 blocked shots, 2 steals, 4 assists and 20 rebounds. Those 20 rebounds is a new WNBA Finals record. She also was awarded finals MVP in 2015.

The Lynx have won the WNBA title in 2011, 2013, 2015, and 2017. The Lynx lost in the finals in 2012 and 2016. So with 4 wins in the last 7 years and 6 finals appearances within those 7 years, the Lynx are officially a dynasty. The Lynx have tied the Houston Comets for number of championships as the Comets won the first 4 WNBA titles from 1997 to 2000. The 6 WNBA Finals appearances for the Lynx are the most in league history with Sparks at number 2 with 5.

Congratulations to the 2017 WNBA Champion Minnesota Lynx!