Jim Brown officially begins his two-year term as mayor of Cedar Falls on Jan. 2, but he'll take the oath of office at the city council meeting Monday night (Dec. 21, 2015).

Brown will be sworn-in alongside newly-elected Ward 4 city councilman Tom Blanford and re-elected representatives Susan deBuhr (Ward 2) and Dave Wieland (at-large).

The council meeting begins at 7 p.m. at City Hall.

The council meeting will be the last for out-going Mayor Jon Crews, who's retiring after more than four decades in public office. Crews has served as mayor of Cedar Falls for 30 of the past 44 years in three separate stints.

The 69-year-old Crews finished second to Brown in the Nov. 3rd municipal elections and was supposed to face Brown in a run-off election on Dec. 1, but he chose instead to retire rather than campaign for another election. Crews suspended his campaign and endorsed Brown to replace him.

The new city council terms for Blanford, deBuhr and Wieland also begin at noon on Jan. 2.