Is Your Name on This Website? Then Remove It Immediately
I discovered a web site that has all kinds of information about me, and I never approved it it to be posted. The scary thing is that any internet creeper can see it too.
THE BEST OF INTENTIONS:
TruePeopleSearch.com is a web site dedicated to help people find lost friends and family members. Let me stress that's It's okay to click the that link. The advertised goal of the website is to allow us to find lost family and friends. Great idea, but there is little, if any, safeguards built in to this site. You can type in any name or a phone number, and tah-duh, lines and lines of personal information.
THEN KNEW TOO MUCH ABOUT ME:
I did a quick search of my name, and I found it had all kinds of information about me. In went back 30-plus years. Mind you, not all of it was 100% accurate. My current address had me living with my ex-wife. Uhm, no thank you. LoL. It also had my last eight residences.
IT'S ALL PUBLIC RECORD:
Since it is all public record, there's no rule for them not to post it. That being said, they do offer a quick and easy way to remove your information (posted below) from those trowellers who might find your data useful.
WHO CAN SEE IT:
Thieves, hackers, stalkers, criminals, and all other sorts of other riff-raff can see it, and they could use it to create fake credit card accounts, steal your tax return, and even make fake social media accounts. This is probably where all those poisers lurk searching for their next fake Facebook account to friend request us to death.
TO REMOVE YOUR NAME:
Don't fret, you can remove your name, and it won't cost you anything but a little time. To do that, click on the RECORD REMOVAL link to request the site to have you data removed. Follow the steps, and at the bottom of the page, you see a big button that says "Remove This Record". I did just that, and I did another quick search of my name about five minutes later, and it was gone.
A lot of people are learning about this and removing their info, so you get an, “ERROR 404″ message on your screen, try again in a few minutes.