Pfeiffer Springs Park was packed to watch the first ever CVBL Championship Game on June 10, 2015. Timely hitting helped the Heat Baseball Club 12u squad win the inaugural CVBL Championship.

After the 97.7 KCRR/K-98.5 Opening Ceremony, the #1 seeded Heat 12u battled the #2 seeded Jr. Wahawks 12u for the CVBL's first ever championship.

(Photo: CVBL)

The Heat opened the scoring in the bottom of the first inning. Joe Knutson hit a one run single, and Jase Seger's double added two more runs to give the Heat a 3-0 lead after the first.

The Heat added more pressure in the second inning. A single by Ethan Hall scored the Heat's fourth run. Ryan Ostrich smacked a base-clearing triple to push three more runs home, and Knutson added his second RBI with another single. That gave the Heat a 8-0 lead after two innings.

The Wahawks exploded in the fourth for four runs. Brady O'Connor fired up the scoring machine with a one-run double. The next batter Ben Melcher stroked a single to the outfield adding a third run. Mitch Kayser thumped a two-run double to cut the Heat lead in half.

In the fifth inning, the Heat added two more runs thanks to timely hitting by Reed Ulses and Jayson Weiland giving the Heat a 10-4 lead going into the game's final frame.

The Wahawks added one more run after O'Connor scored another RBI, but it was not enough as the Heat would shut down the Wahawks attack for a 10-5 championship win.

In the CVBL Third Place Game, the #4 Full Count 11u team defeated the #3 Wapsie Valley team by a score of 6-3.

The #6 Heat 11u unit beat the #5 Full Count Stars in the CVBL Fifth Place Game by a score of 8-5.

The final event of the 2015 CVBL season will be the All Star game set for Monday, June 15 at Pfeiffer Springs Park.

To learn more about Bucky Doren's Cedar Valley Baseball League, log onto their web site at

A special thank you to 97.7 KCRR's Cory Ford and K-98.5 for helping add to the night's CVBL Championship Game.