There’s already a buzz around the IMCA racing nation about the June 7, 2016  doubleheader that brings the Deery Brothers Summer Series and the Hawkeye Dirt Tour to Marshalltown Speedway.

While both the series for IMCA Late Models and the tour for Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Modifieds have made separate appearances there, next Tuesday’s event marks the first time they’ve been on the same race night card at Marshalltown.

“We’re pretty excited to have these two series running here the same night,” acknowledged pro­moter Toby Kruse. “We always look for a perfect fit and I think we’ve found it. There’s a lot of excite­ment in the air.”

“I’ve already been getting calls from all over about Tuesday night,” he continued. “The Deery Se­ries is always a hit here. Benton County Speedway had a record number of Hawkeye Dirt Tour entries (48) on Memorial Day and we’ve been averaging between 25 and 26 Modifieds weekly at Marshalltown, which is fantastic for this day and age. I think we’re going to have a great night.”

The 30th annual Deery Series main event pays $2,000 to win and a minimum of $300 to start while the Hawkeye Dirt Tour headliner pays $1,000 to win, a minimum of $150 to take the green and is a qualifier for the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot.

Pit gates open at 4:30 p.m., the grandstand opens at 5 p.m. and hot laps are at 7 p.m. with racing to follow. Spectator admission is $15 for adults, $12 for seniors 62 and over and free for kids 10 and under. Pit passes are $30.

Modifieds will chase IMCA Speedway Motors Weekly Racing National, BMS North Central Re­gional, Allstar Performance Iowa State and special series points. IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars run for $500 to win along with national, EQ Cylinder Heads Northern Region and state points; local track points will not be given in either division.

Twenty-four previous Deery events have been held at Marshalltown since 1987, the series’ inaugural season. Curt Martin of Independence leads all drivers with five wins there while seven-time champion and current point leader Jeff Aikey of Cedar Falls has won four Marshalltown starts.

Richie Gustin of Gilman and Darin Duffy of Urbana each count a pair of wins from the five Haw­keye Dirt Tour events held at Marshalltown. Gustin owns an HDT career-best eight feature victo­ries.

More information about the June 7 card is available by calling Kruse at 515 231-5444 or at the website.

The second Hawkeye Dirt Tour event of the week is Thursday, June 9 at Kossuth County Speedway in Algona. That feature also pays $1,000 to win.

Deery Brothers Summer Series top 20 point standings – 1. Jeff Aikey, Cedar Falls, 187; 2. Tyler Bruening, Decorah, 172; 3. John Emerson, Waterloo, 171; 4. Richie Gustin, Gilman, 165; 5. Ryan Dolan, Lisbon, 164; 6. Matt Ryan, Davenport, 162; 7. Scott Fitzpatrick, Wheatland, 158; 8. Andy Nezworski, Buffalo, 149; 9. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown, and Joel Callahan, Dubuque, both 143; 11. Joe Zrostlik, Long Grove, 136; 12. Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa, 130; 13. Chad Hol­laday, Muscatine, 129; 14. Tyler Droste, Waterloo, 113; 15. Jason Rauen, Farley, 112; 16. Gary Webb, Blue Grass, 103; 17. Rob Toland, Davenport, 100; 18. Jeremiah Hurst, Dubuque, and Curt Schroeder, Newton, both 96; 20. Jon Merfeld, Dubuque, 94.

Hawkeye Dirt Tour top 20 point standings – 1. Joel Rust, Grundy Center, 40; 2. Todd Shute, Des Moines, 39; 3. Tony Snyder, Readlyn, 38; 4. Chris Abelson, Sioux City, 37; 5. Joe Docekal, Dysart, 36; 6. Corey Dripps, Reinbeck, 35; 7. Troy Cordes, Dunkerton, 34; 8. Kelly Shryock, Fer­tile, 33; 9. Zach Less, Manchester, 32; 10. Jerry Dedrick, Vinton, 31; 11. David Brown, Kellogg, 30; 12. Dakota Hayden, Wilton, 29; 13. Mark Elliott, Webster City, 28; 14. Ryan Maitland, Water­loo, 27; 15. Jeff James, Stanton, 26; 16. Patrick Flannagan, Cedar Rapids, 25; 17. Nick Roberts, Des Moines, 24; 18. Shane DeMey, Denison, 23; 19. Kyle Brown, State Center, 22; 20. Brian Ir­vine, Oelwein, 21.