Joel Rust returned to his home track Tuesday night and became a rare repeat winner in the Hawkeye Dirt Tour for Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Modifieds.

Rust regained the lead from Brian Irvine coming out of the final turn and beat his challenger to the $1,000 checkers by all of half a car length at Marshalltown Speedway.

IMCA Hawkeye Dirt Tour

Backing up his opening night tour win at Benton County Speedway with another strong showing, Rust ran a line higher than Irvine as they raced side-by-side or bumper to bumper for much of a 30-lapper interrupted just once by caution.

Rust was scored first most of those times around the track but Irvine had the lead going into the final set of turns. Rust pulled ahead on his preferred line coming out of four to get the win.

Defending series champion Kyle Brown, Jacob Murray and ‘B” feature qualifier Richie Gustin rounded out the top five.

Rust is just the second driver to win consecutive Dirt Tour events – Jay Noteboom did so at Farley and Marshalltown in September of 2012 – and the first to win twice in the same season since Darin Duffy accomplished the feat in 2013.

He’ll race for a record third straight win in the next installment of the Hawkeye Dirt Tour Thursday, June 9 when Kossuth County Speedway at Algona hosts another $1,000 to win, minimum $150 to start show.

Pit gates and the grandstand open at 4 p.m. Hot laps are at 6:15 p.m. with racing to follow. Grandstand admission is $12 for adults and free for kids 14 and under. Pit passes are $25.

Also running will be IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks, Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods and Mach-1 Sport Compacts for all applicable points, including local track.

Ray Guss won the Deery Brothers Summer Series late model feature that also ran that night at Marshalltown Speedway.

Contributed By: Bill Martin (IMCA Media Relations)

JUNE 8, 2016

Feature results – 1. Joel Rust, Grundy Center; 2. Brian Irvine, Oelwein; 3. Kyle Brown, State Center; 4. Jacob Murray, Hartford; 5. Richie Gustin, Gilman; 6. Josh Most, Red Oak; 7. Scott Davis, Madrid; 8. Tim Ward, Harcourt; 9. Tom Berry Jr., Medford, Ore.; 10. Ronn Lauritzen, Jesup; 11. Chris Abelson, Sioux City; 12. Darin Duffy, Urbana; 13. Trent Jackson, Marshalltown; 14. Kurt Kile, Nichols; 15. Corey Dripps, Reinbeck; 16. Mike Van Genderen, Newton; 17. Troy Cordes, Dunkerton; 18. Josh Gilman, Earlham; 19. Joe Docekal, Dysart; 20. Mark Elliott, Webster City; 21. Matt Werner, Colona, Ill.; 22. Jimmy Gustin, Marshalltown; 23. Ricky Thornton Jr., Harcourt; 24. Kelly Shryock, Fertile.

1st heat (top three) – 1. Jackson; 2. Rust; 3. Werner; 4. Dripps; 5. Berry; 6. Gilman; 7. Cordes; 8. Duffy; 9. Tony Cox, Boone; 10. Kevin Hollingsworth, Des Moines.

2nd heat – 1. Most; 2. Lauritzen; 3. Jimmy Gustin; 4. Van Genderen; 5. Jenae Gustin, Marshalltown; 6. Kile; 7. Richie Gustin; 8. Thornton; 9. Derek Reimer, Marshalltown; 10. Docekal.

3rd heat – 1. Kyle Brown; 2. Irvine; 3. Davis; 4. David Brown, Kellogg; 5. Jason Snyder, Dunkerton; 6. Ryan Maitland, Waterloo; 7. Brandon Maitland, Waterloo; 8. Abelson; 9. Rod McDonald, Manchester; 10. Devon Havlik, Iowa Falls.

4th heat – 1. Murray; 2. Elliott; 3. Shryock; 4. Ward; 5. Racer Hulin, Laurel; 6. Scott Simatovich, State Center; 7. Nick Roberts, LaCrosse, Wis.; 8. Shane DeMey, Denison; 9. Tyler Madigan, Peosta.

1st “B” feature (top five) – 1. Abelson; 2. Dripps; 3. Berry; 4. Gilman; 5. Duffy; 6. David Brown; 7. Cordes; 8. Ryan Maitland; 9. Cox; 10. Brandon Maitland; 11. Havlik; 12. McDonald; 13. Snyder; 14. Hollingsworth.

2nd “B” feature – 1. Ward; 2. Thornton; 3. Van Genderen; 4. Kile; 5. Richie Gustin; 6. Hulin; 7. Jenae Gustin; 8. Simatovich; 9. DeMey; 10. Roberts; 11. Docekal; 12. Reimer; 13. Madigan.