Saturday, April 8, 2017 was a big night of dirt track racing in Iowa. Two $1,000 to win Modified races at Independence and Boone, and the Deery Series battled for a $2,000 check in West Liberty.

IMCA Deery Bro. Summer Series

Denny Eckrich led the last seven laps to score the win during the IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series event at the West Liberty Raceway. It was an emotional night for Eckrich, and several others, after hearing the news of Mike Humphrey untimely passing. Humphrey was killed in a car accident earlier this week in Louisiana.

“He helped me get into a Black Diamond (Chassis),” Eckrich said. “He helped a lot of racers. Mike was a good guy, and he died too soon. There are a lot of heavy hearts tonight.”

[See Race Results]

Independence Motor Speedway

On lap three, Troy Cordes moved into the lead during the IMCA Modified Spring Break Season Opener at Independence Motor Speedway. Mark Schulte applied heavy pressure in the closing laps, but it was Cordes who was first to the checkered flag during the twenty-five lap A-Main. Schulte settled for second. Scott Hogan raced in the top five all night and finished third. Adam Johnson moved from a fourteenth starting spot to finish fourth, and Jason Morehouse finished a great night by rounding out the top five.

[See Race Results]

2017 IMCA Frostbuster

Clint Luellen, Jason Wolla, and Russ Dickerson battled for the IMCA Frostbuster Modified A-Main win at Boone Speedway. Luellen led the field during the middle stages. Wolla was able to wrestled the lead away, but he was quickly overtaken by Dickerson who held off the hungry pack for the vicotry. Wolla finished second followed by Luellen. Mike Van Genderan and Hunter Marriott rounded out the top five.

[See Race Results]