Gov. Terry Branstad has issued emergency disaster proclamations for two northeast Iowa counties hit hard by severe storms and flash flooding last week.

The governor signed the proclamations for Bremer and Chickasaw counties on Monday (Aug. 29, 2016).

Branstad's action allows state resources to be used to help recover from the storms that significantly impacted those two counties Aug. 23. In addition, the proclamation activates the Iowa Individual Assistance Program for residents of Bremer and Chickasaw counties.

The Iowa Individual Assistance Program provides grants of up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the current federal poverty level, or a maximum annual income of $40,320, for a family of three. Grants are available for home or car repairs, replacement of clothing or food, and for the expense of temporary housing. Original receipts are required for those seeking reimbursement for actual expenses related to storm recovery.

Potential applicants have 45 days from the date of the proclamation to submit a claim. Eligible residents in Bremer and Chickasaw counties have until Oct. 14, 2016, to apply for Iowa Individual Assistance as a result of these storms.

On Friday, Branstad signed similar disaster proclamations for five other northeast Iowa counties. Eligible residents in those counties -- Allamakee, Clayton, Fayette, Howard and Winnishiek -- have until Oct. 7, 2016, to apply for financial help from the state.

The grant application and instructions are available on the Iowa Department of Human Services website. For more information on the Iowa Individual Disaster Assistance grant program call 866-434-4692 (toll-free). For 24/7 disaster crisis counseling, call the Iowa Concern Hotline at 800-447-1985 (toll-free).