The National Pork Board has announced the four finalists who are vying to become the 2016 America’s Pig Farmer of the Year.One is from Cedar Valley.

The four finalist are Craig Andersen of Centerville, South Dakota; Brad Greenway of Mitchell, South Dakota; Maria Mauer of Greensburg, Indiana; Jarrod Bakker of Dike, Iowa

The National Pork Board created the America’s Pig Farmer of the Year award in order to recognize a farmer who excels in raising pigs using the We Care ethical principles and who can effectively communicate their story to today’s consumers.

“This award brings to life the National Pork Board’s commitment to building consumer trust through on-farm transparency and accountability,” said National Pork Board President Derrick Sleezer, who is a pig farmer from Cherokee, Iowa. “The ideal candidate will have a focus on environmental sustainability, as well as animal welfare, production efficiency, the adoption of best practices and a commitment to continuous improvement.”

The public can vote once per day per person per e-mail address for their favorite finalist. The voting is underway through September 10th and the winner will be announced October 11. To see the videos and to vote, go to Americas Pig Farmer