Contact Us

Photo Finish For $20k at Farley, Strickler Scores $50k

The first ever Modified Super Weekend was this weekend at Farley Speedway. Kyle Strickler took the $50,000 modified win. It was a photo finish that determined the $20,000 SportMod payday between Jared Boumeester and Jake McBirnie.

The Modified Super Weekend concluded on Saturday night with the running of the Championship Feature events. 111 Modified drivers and 71 SportMod drivers took part in qualifying on Friday night and with last chance races filling the 31 car starting field on Saturday night as the main event feature fields were set.

The 50 lap Modified feature win was captured by Mooresville, North Carolina driver Kyle Strickler. The number 8 of Strickler took off from an outside front row start and led early although he was challenged early in the race by Ricky Thornton. The two battled until a mid race fuel stop. The final 25 laps saw a three car battle for the lead with Strickler and the 1st of Johnny Scott trading slide jobs and the lead position.

Also in contention was Hunter Marriot in the 62. As the last few laps were run it was Strickler opening up a ten car advantage as Marriott was able to take control of 2nd place ahead of Scott.

In victory lane Strickler stated “ this is by far the biggest race I have ever won, it is going to take several days for this to sink in, I just won $50,000.”

The Sportmod feature delighted the huge crowd with the closest finish of the night. The 30 lap feature win went to Waseca, Minnesota driver Jared Boumeester. The margin of victory at finish line was less than a foot with Boumeester scoring the win over Jake McBirnie. The two leaders raced side by side for the majority of the 30 feature before the dramatic finish unfolded.

Watch Hobby Stock Photo Finish at Independence Motor Speedway

The Modified Super Weekend was a huge success with 182 race car drivers taking part in the inaugural event with large crowds of race fans in attendance both nights.

Click Here For More Racing News & Results

MAY 13, 2017

Modified Feature
1. 8 Kyle Strickler
2. 62 Hunter Marriott
3. 1ST Johnny Scott
4. 32 Chris Simpson
5. 30 Jordan Grabouski
6. 96JP Jeremy Payne
7. Z62 Justin Zeitner
8. 19G Richie Gustin
9. 20RT Ricky Thornton Jr.
10. 99 Jesse Sobbing
11. 05 Jesse Glenz
12. 1X Chris Abelson
13. 96J Johnny Saathoff
14. 15K Justin Kay
15. 30P Terry Phillips
16. 8H John Hansen
17. 5 Todd Shute
18. 23JR Nick Roberts
19. 175 Ethan Dotson
20. 27M Mark Schulte
21. 28 Payton Taylor
22. 77 Kurt Kile
23. 00J JD Auringer
24. 18L Michael Long
25. 11X Tom Berry Jr.
26. 99M Mike Mullen
27. 31 Corey Dripps
28. 69 Lucas Schott
29. 21K Kyle Brown
30. 77S Rodney Sanders
31. 3S Kelly Shryock

Modified Non-Qualifier Race #1
1. 05M Mike Mashl
2. 37 Mike Jergens
3. 71C Troy Cordes
4. 6 Jed Freiburger
5. B1 Jeff Larson
6. 12D Joe Docekal
7. 21L Brad Lautenbach
8. 77ST Stephan Kammerer
9. 33J Joe Huenefeld
10. 82 Joe McBirnie
11. 37R Kyle Rutkoski
DNS 25R Russ Reinwald
DNS UFO Wayne Brooks
DNS 21D David Brown
DNS 19 Jimmy Gustin
DNS 13 Eddie LeMay Jr.
DNS 505 Racer Hulin
DNS 3B Eddie Belec
DNS 29D Brad Dierks
DNS 68 Mark Joski
DNS 9M Dale Mathison
DQ 7SR John Emerson

Modified Non-Qualifier Race #2
1. 21 Jesse Hoeft
2. 02 Andrew Schroeder
3. 77A Jeff Aikey
4. 19J Jenae Gustin
5. 70 Jesse Dennis
6. 45 Troy Hovey
7. 2S Tyler Stevens
8. 17X Richard Michaels Jr.
9. 4TW Tim Ward
10. 95 Brian Joski
11. 24G Greg Gretz
12. V Milo Veloz
13. 40 Joel Callahan
14. 2E Josh Eberhart
15. 64 Vern Jackson
16. 41P Keith Pittman
17. 4 Ryan Maitland
18. 3 Jason Schueller
DNS 77T Tripp Gaylord
DNS 90K Shawn Kilgore
DNS 72 Brian Mullen
DNS 21M Tyler Madigan

Modified Non-Qualifier Race #3
1. 26J Joel Rust
2. 10K Ronn Lauritzen
3. 54 Benji LaCrosse
4. 95X Dylan Smith
5. 2G Matt Gansen
6. 92M Josh Most
7. 98 Andy Eckrich
8. 33K Kenny Kostenbader
9. 007 Luke Lemmens
10. 3X Ryan DeShaw
11. 96 Jason Bahrs
12. 75 Lance Arneson
13. 21F Nick Firari
14. 81 Chad Bartel
15. 34S Dustin Smits
16. 01 Ed Thomas
17. 18R Chad Holladay
DNS 92 Tyler Droste
DNS 15M Shane DeMay
DNS 25 Hank Berry
DNS 7R Ryan Gaylord
DNS 15S Don Scheffler
DNS 52K Trevor Kracht

SportMod Feature
1. 81 Jared Boumeester
2. 82 Jake McBirnie
3. 17 Brandon Lennox
4. 3T Tyler Soppe
5. 76 Lance Borgman
6. 80J Jared Van Deest
7. 4 Jerry Miles
8. 69JR Johnathan Logue
9. 95 Ryan Jenkins
10. 198 Sam Wieben
11. 27S Jason Schlangen
12. 14 Jake Sachau
13. 60 Dalton Simonsen
14. 2JR Wyatt Block
15. 29W Dave Wada
16. 3A Austin Luellen
17. C9 Brandt Cole
18. 2W Todd Wiese
19. 25C Cody Thompson
20. 0 Lucas Lambries
21. 20S Brandon Schmitt
22. 1 Dan Chapman
23. GT1 Brian Efkamp
24. 35 Justin Becker
25. 74 Ben Schultze
26. 21D Ryan Duhme
27. 56 Ty Griffith
28. 14X Austin Schrage
29. 9K Troy Bauer
30. 66 Tim Plummer
31. 12T Tim Current

SportMod Non-Qualifier Race #1
1. 5C Dan Mohr
2. 11S Jeff Schmul
3. 8T Tom Stark
4. 7M Matt Short
5. 15 Craig Dorner
6. 34 Jerry Hinton
7. 6R Rusty DeShaw
8. 4D Danny Concelman
9. 6M Jake Murphy
10. 89 Jason Vandenberg
11. 613 Dan Hahn
12. 92 Dustin Schram
DNS 2 Joey Schaefer
DNS 10 Jim Gillenwater
DNS 14SR Brian Schrage

SportMod Non-Qualifier Race #2
1. 22 Austin Heacock
2. 4G Kevin Goben
3. 40J Jason Doyle
4. 62 Cory Pestotnik
5. 492 Trent Wyssbrod
6. 97 John Logue
7. 9W Ryan Walker
DNS 26X Shane Meeks
DNS 11 Ethan Braaksma
DNS 1JR Ben Chapman
DNS 5W Greg Wichman
DNS 16V Matt Van Gelder
DNS 20T Mike Tanner
DNS 62S Jeff Steenbergen
DNS 24M Mark Maas
DNS 38 Craig Garner

Click Here For More Racing News & Results

Best of

Recommended For You

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for K-98.5 quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive K-98.5 contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.