A trio of players from the UNI Panthers have been named to the all-Missouri Valley Conference men's basketball team, the league announced on Tuesday (March, 1, 2016).

Senior Wes Washpun (Cedar Rapids, Iowa) earned second-team all-MVC honors after leading the Panthers in scoring (14.1) and assists (5.4). Washpun ranks second in the MVC in assists per game and needs 11 more assists to tie the UNI single-season record for assists.

Senior Matt Bohannon (Cedar Rapids, Iowa) and junior Jeremy Morgan (Coralville, Iowa) earned honorable mention all-MVC status. Morgan also earned a spot on the MVC All-Defensive team.

Bohannon leads the MVC in three-pointers made (89) and ranks second on the Panthers in scoring (12.4). Bohannon needs seven more made three-pointers to tie the UNI single-season record. Bohannon made three or more three-pointers in 20 games this season.

Morgan is the only player in the league to lead his team in rebounding (161), steals (60) and blocks (24). He ranks fourth on the Panther squad in scoring (10.2). He leads the MVC in steals per game (1.9). He ranks fifth in the MVC in field goal percentage (.474). Morgan becomes the sixth different UNI Panther to earn a spot on the MVC's All-Defensive team.

Seniors dominate this year's Missouri Valley Conference all-league teams. All five first-team selections (and nine of the 10 on the first- or second-team squads) are seniors.

The league will announce its specialty awards Tuesday afternoon (March 1), including the Larry Bird Trophy recipient, the Defensive Player of the Year, the Newcomer of the Year, the Freshman of the Year, and the Sixth Man of the Year. The league's coaching honor will be announced Thursday (March 3) in St. Louis at the Coach of the Year luncheon.

The first-team unit features Wichita State teammates who have earned first-team all-MVC honors three-straight years (Ron Baker and Fred VanVleet), two guards who rank in the Top 25 all-time in league scoring (D.J. Balentine - the nation's active leading scorer; and Anthony Beane who has 1,900 career points) and one of the nation's most dominant big men (Egidijus Mockevicius leads the nation in rebounding and double-doubles).

First Team

  • Ron Baker, Wichita State, Sr.
  • D.J. Balentine, Evansville, Sr.
  • Anthony Beane, Southern Illinois, Sr.
  • Egidijus Mockevicius, Evansville, Sr.
  • Fred VanVleet, Wichita State, Sr.

Second Team

  • DeVaughn Akoon-Purcell, Illinois State, Sr.
  • Devonte Brown, Indiana State, Sr.
  • Montel James, Loyola, Sr.
  • Brenton Scott, Indiana State, Sophomore
  • Wes Washpun, UNI, Sr.

Honorable-Mention Selections

  • Matt Bohannon, UNI, Sr.
  • Paris Lee, Illinois State, Jr.
  • MiKyle McIntosh, Illinois State, So.
  • Dequon Miller, Missouri State, Jr.
  • Jeremy Morgan, UNI, Jr.
  • Reed Timmer, Drake, So.

All-Newcomer Team

  • Dequon Miller, Missouri State, Jr.
  • Anton Grady, Wichita State, Sr.
  • Mike Rodriguez. Southern Illinois, Jr.
  • Markis McDuffie, Wichita State, Fr.
  • Everett Clemons, Indiana State, Jr.

All-Freshman Team

  • Markis McDuffie, Wichita State
  • Obediah Church, Missouri State
  • Dwayne Lautier-Ogunleye, Bradley
  • Jarred Dixon, Missouri State
  • Luuk van Bree, Bradley

All-Defensive Team

  • Ron Baker, Wichita State, Sr.
  • Egidijus Mockevicius, Evansville, Sr.
  • Jeremy Morgan, UNI, Jr.
  • Fred VanVleet, Wichita State, Sr.
  • Paris Lee, Illinois State, Jr.