Casey's General Stores presented the season championship races on Friday (August 26, 2016) at the Farley Speedway. The featured event was the Twin 25 lap features in the Out Pace Racing Products Late Models.

The first 25 lap feature was red flag flagged following an incident in turn two that saw the cars of Ben Seeman and Becky Roth tip over. Seeman rode out a double flip while Roth came to rest on the side with all four wheels off the ground. Fortunately all drivers were uninjured.

When the race took the green on the restart, the race went caution free to the checkered flag. Andy Eckrich took over the top spot from Kip Siems as the race closed in on the ten lap mark, Eckrich went on to record the win with Ryan Dolan and Jeff Aikey taking second and third.

“We came up here tonight to try some changes for the Yankee," Ekrich said in victory lane. "The Yankee is very special to the Eckrich family, and we are coming after the win this week.”

By virtue of a fifth place finish Joel Callahan secured the 2016 Out Pace Racing Products IMCA Late Model track championship.

The second Late Model feature was only slowed once for a minor caution. Jeremiah Hurst took over the lead position after a spirited battle with Jerry King, Hurst went on to score a comfortable win in taking the checkers ahead of Joel Callahan and Ryan Dolan. Hurst, who will become the full time driver for Roberts Motorsports in 2017 stated in victory lane,

“I am really looking forward to next year," Hurst said after the race. "I appreciate the opportunity that Ken Roberts has given me and we are going to be ready for next year.”

The GSI Collision Specialists IMCA Modified feature event was packed with racing excitement, much of which was provided by Jeff Larson. Larson was shaking down a new car for Ken Kostenbader, and the shake down proved to be a great one as Larson scored the 20 lap season championship win.

Larson advanced from the fifth row and fought off several late race challenges form Mark Schulte in scoring the win. Jed Freiburger ran a strong third on Friday night. A second place finish allowed Mark Schulte to edge out Jerry Luloff for the 2016 Modified track championship.

The GSI Collision Specialists IMCA Sportmod feature win and 2016 track championship went to Tyler Soppe. The Sherril driver scored his 25th feature win of 2016 and is in the running for the Sportmod National Championship. Soppe took the checkers ahead of Troy Bauer and Justin Becker.

The 2 Man Cruisers were also in action on Friday night and the team of Rupp and Irshman took the 10 lap feature win.

The 39th annual “Yankee Dirt Track Classic” presented by Casey's General Stores will get underway on Wednesday, August 31st and run through Saturday, September 3rd with the Saturday night Championship night being headlined by the 100 lap “Yankee” for the Deery Brothers Summer Series IMCA Late Models.

Contributed By: Jerry Mackey

AUGUST 25, 2016

Out Pace Racing Products IMCA Late Models: Feature #1
56 Andy Eckrich-Cosgrove
1D Ryan Dolan-Lisbon
77 Jeff Aikey-Cedar Falls
12 Ron Klein-Sherril
40 Joel Callahan-Dubuque

Feature #2
41 Jeremiah Hurst-Dubuque
40 Joel Callahan-Dubuque
1D Ryan Dolan-Lisbon
56 Andy Eckrich-Cosgrove
44 Luke Goedirt-Millville

GSI Collision Specialists IMCA Modifieds
3 Jeff Larson-Freeport, IL.
27M Mark Schulte-Delhi
6 Jed Freiburger-Dubuque
F7 Pat Flanagan-Marion
18 Jerry Luloff-Independence

GSI Collision Specialists IMA Sportmods
3T Tyler Soppe-Sherril
9K Troy Bauer-Dubuque
35 Justin Becker-Bernard
6R Rusty DeShaw-Dyersville
75 Bob Silaggi-Freeport, IL

2 Man Crusiers
85 Rupp/Irshman
247 Reimer/Bolsinger
56 Hansmeier/Hansmeier
32K Hora/Meyer
62 Davis/Ingles