Contact Us

Despite Heavy Heart, Eckrich Wins West Liberty Deery Series Race

IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series
IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series

After winning Saturday’s IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series feature at West Liberty Raceway, Denny Eckrich took time to remember friend Mike Humphrey who was killed in a car accident earlier this week in Louisiana.

“He helped me get into a Black Diamond (Chassis),” Eckrich said. “He helped a lot of racers. Mike was a good guy, and he died too soon. There are a lot of heavy hearts tonight.”

Eckrich used the outside line to pass Jeremiah Hurst and Jesse Sobbing to led the last seven laps of the forty-lap feature. The $2,000 checkers was his sixth career IMCA Late Model tour win. Eckrich also won the April West Liberty Deery Series race last year.

Outside front row starter Spencer Diercks led the first 15 laps before slowing and watching Hurst motor past.

Several positions throughout the top 10 changed as the race wound down. Hurst settled for second, and hard charger Joel Callahan raced his way from 20th to finish third.

Defending series champion Tyler Bruening and Sobbing completed the top five. Bruening was also the $250 Sunoco Race Fuels feature qualifier drawing winner.

Next up for the 31st annual Deery Series are two $2,000 to win events on Friday, April 14 and Saturday, April 15. Friday the tour visits Farley Speedway, and on Saturday, they travel to Independence Motor Speedway.

Thanks to Bill Martin (IMCA Media Relations) for helping with the race recap.

Click Here For More Racing News & Results

APRIL 8, 2017

Feature Results:
1. Denny Eckrich, Tiffin; 2. Jeremiah Hurst, Dubuque; 3. Joel Callahan, Dubuque; 4. Tyler Bruening, Decorah; 5. Jesse Sobbing, Malvern; 6. Jeff Tharp, Sherrill; 7. Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa; 8. Justin Kay, Wheatland; 9. Jake Neal, Omaha, Neb.; 10. Scott Fitzpatrick, Wheatland; 11. Luke Goedert, Guttenberg; 12. Curt Martin, Independence; 13. Jeff Aikey, Cedar Falls; 14. Chad Holladay, Muscatine; 15. John Emerson, Waterloo; 16. Matt Ryan, Davenport; 17. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown; 18. Andy Eckrich, Oxford; 19. Lyle Klein, Sherrill; 20. Kyle Hinrichs, Swisher; 21. Spencer Dierks, Davenport; 22. Jay Johnson, West Burlington; 23. Kevin Kile, West Liberty; 24. Nick Marolf, Wilton.

1st Heat (top three): 1. Hurst; 2. Carter; 3. Sobbing; 4. Martin; 5. Ryan Dolan, Lisbon; 6. Marolf; 7. Goedert; 8. Kyle Krampe, Baxter.

2nd Heat: 1. Fitzpatrick; 2. Ryan; 3. Neal; 4. Johnson; 5. Holladay; 6. Kay; 7. Callahan; 8. Emerson.

3rd Heat: 1. Kile; 2. DeFrance; 3. Hinrichs; 4. Andy Eckrich; 5. Jonathan Brauns, Muscatine; 6. Klein; 7. Tharp.

4th Heat: 1. Aikey; 2. Denny Eckrich; 3. Diercks; 4. Bruening; 5. Curt Schroeder, Newton; 6. Paul Conrad, Colo; 7. Justin Mitchell, Cedar Rapids.

1st “B” Feature (top six): 1. Andy Eckrich; 2. Martin; 3. Marolf; 4. Goedert; 5. Tharp; 6. Klein; 7. Krampe; 8. Brauns; 9. Dolan.

2nd “B” Feature: 1. Holladay; 2. Bruening; 3. Kay; 4. Callahan; 5. Emerson; 6. Johnson; 7. Conrad; 8. Schroeder; 9. Mitchell.

Click Here For More Dirt Track Racing Results & News

Best of

Recommended For You

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for K-98.5 quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive K-98.5 contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.