The Northwoods League has announced that Waterloo Bucks catcher Adam McGinnis is the winner of a 2016 Rawlings “Finest in the Field” Award.

McGinnis, who is now a senior at Western Illinois University, finished the season with the NWL’s best fielding percentage for a catcher. The Normal, Ill., native finished with a perfect 1.000 fielding percentage in 236 total chances on the year.

Adam McGinnis / Courtesy: Waterloo Bucks

In his second year with Waterloo, McGinnis was named the 2016 Bucks Roth Jewelers Player of the Year. McGinnis was named to the mid-season NWL All-Star Team and was recently named to Perfect Game’s 2016 Summer Collegiate All-American Team Honorable Mention squad.

The annual award recognizes the top fielders at each position. The winners, who were announced on Tuesday (Sept. 20), are selected based on final fielding statistics compiled by league statistician Pointstreak. The 2016 Rawlings ‘Finest in the Field’ Award recipients and their field percentages are below.

Position Player NWL Team College Fielding Percentage
C Adam McGinnis Waterloo W. Illinois 1.000
1B Ben Fisher Wisconsin Rapids E. Kentucky .994
2B Jake Lumley Wisconsin Rapids Canisius .987
3B Patrick Cromwell Wisconsin Rapids Clemson .949
SS Mason McCoy La Crosse Iowa .969
OF Logan Mattix Wisconsin Rapids Georgia Coll. 1.000
OF Joe Duncan Lakeshore E. Illinois 1.000
OF Dean Miller Battle Creek Riverside CC 1.000
P Kenny Ogg Eau Claire Ohio 1.000

Rawlings has been rewarding the top defenders in the Northwoods League since 2002. The recipients receive a special Rawlings baseball glove mounted on an engraved trophy base. Rawlings is the official equipment provider for the Northwoods League. To qualify for an award a player needs to appear in at least two-thirds of the scheduled games at a specific position, with the exception of catcher which is half. For pitchers, the player that had the highest total defensive chances without committing an error earns the number one spot.