It was the 2016 IMCA Weekly Racing Series season opener at the Farley Speedway Friday night (April 22, 2016). Drivers put on a very entertaining night of races on an extremely fast racing surface.

When the final checkered flag of night flew at just past 10:00 PM, it was defending IMCA Late Model track champion Tyler Bruening taking the opening night win in the very tough Out Pace Racing Products Late Model Feature. Bruening chased down race leader John Merfeld and made the winning move on lap 17 of the 25 lap feature.

Mark Schulte drove to the opening night win in the IMCA Modified class over Matt Gansen.

"The track was almost scary fast tonight," IMCA modified A-Main winner Mark Schulte said while in victory lane. "But we had plenty of racing room to maneuver.”

Tyler Soppe out raced a big field of GSI Collision Specialists IMCA Sportmods in route to an impressive win on Friday night. Troy Bauer started dead last on the starting grid and came through the file to take second.

Phil Holtz battled wheel to wheel with defending IMCA Stock Car track champion Jerry Miles and came away with the opening night win. Holtz crossed the finish line a couple of car lengths ahead of Miles.

Quinton Miller set out to defend his track championship in the Hobby Stock class by taking the opening night win ahead of Luke Bird.

The team of Heacock and Rupp scored the feature win in the 2 man cruiser class. The 2 man cruisers will race at the Farley Speedway twice a month throughout the 2016 season.

IMCA Weekly point racing will continue at the “Palace of Speed” Farley Speedway on Friday, April 29th with hot laps set for 7:00 PM.

Contributed By: Jerry Mackey (Farley Speedway PR)

APRIL 22, 2016

Out Pace Racing Products IMCA Late Models
1. Tyler Bruehning-Decorah
2. John Merfeld-Dubuque
3. John Emerson-Waterloo
4. Jason Rauen-Farley
5. Joel Callahan-Dubuque

IMCA Modifieds
1. Mark Schulte-Delhi
2. Matt Gansen-Dubuque
3. Austin Moyer-Dubuque
4. Pat Flanagan-Marion
5. Ken Kostenbader-Freeport, IL

GSI Collision Specialists IMCA Sportmods
1. Tyler Soppe-Sherril
2. Troy Bauer-Dubuque
3. Dalton Simonsen-Fairfax
4. Justin Becker-Dubuque
5. Jake Murphy-Dubuque

IMCA Stock Cars
1. Phil Holtz-Manchester
2. Jerry Miles-Bernard
3. Tim Helle-Garnavillo
4. Norman Chesmore-Quasqueton
5. Chris Luloff-Independence

IMCA Hobby Stocks
1. Quionton Miller-Independence
2. Luke Bird-Winthrop
3. Scott Michaelis-Springville
4. Bobby Taggert-Delmar

2 Man Cruisers
1. Rupp/Heacock
2. Reimer/Bolsinger
3. Norton/Norton
4. Davis/Ershman